“Blind Date a Book”… What a Success!

For a few years now I’ve been dying to try the display idea, “Blind Date a Book.” I finally had the opportunity to set up my own display in the high school library that I work at. The display was so popular it was hard to wrap books fast enough. In six days, 33 books were checked out from the display! I wrapped each book in brown paper, tied the books with twine and used my trusty die cutter to cut out tags that provided readers with clues as to what each book was about. I adapted the image found here to work for this particular display: http://www.etsy.com/listing/125120345/wedding-guest-book-alternative-3d-paper?ref=market.

Here is the result:

photo

I would definitely recommend a “Blind Date a Book” display for teen audiences. Each book was like a little gift, and by providing clues hopefully students ended up with a book that matched their interests. We did have one boy embarrisingly return a certain book that was clearly marketed for lovers of Twilight. I somehow neglected to mention in the clues that the book revolved around a love triangle. However, most teens seemed pretty happy with the books they chose.

Leave a comment